Character Preview: Calliope

I am hard at work with the next part of Ian’s Story. I have such high hopes for it, and I really hope I get to finish sharing the story of the young Ian Caulderwood with you all. May he take a place in your heart as he has done mine. I’ll like to introduce you to one of Ian’s best friends, Calliope Nimue.

Name: Calliope Nimue.
Nickname: Callie, Cal, but she usually goes by her full first name, Calliope.
Age: Thirty-four.
Hair: Reddish brown, worn long to at least past her shoulders.
Eye color: Brown.
Favorite Season: Summer.
Profession: Education.
Job: Librarian.
Appearance: Yes… this is a strange thing to put in a character preview for me, but, I really feel I need to note that Calliope Nimue is a big woman, she’s overweight. I couldn’t think of a kinder way to say this. She’s a sweetheart, but, she is overweight. However, her weight does not bother her. She is not very tall either, she’s shorter then Ian, defiantly.
Personality: Calliope Nimue is a sweet woman, one of a rare kind. She loves to play games, talk with people, and more then anything in the world… she loves to read. Calliope is a large fan of fictional romance novels. She fully immerses herself into the novels in hope that one day she’ll meet the perfect man to come and sweep her off her feet.

She believes in true love, in all possible forms. Calliope is a generous woman whom is willing to think of others before herself. If she had the chance to risk her life to save the life of a child, she would do it without hesitation. Calliope loves children, even though she has none of her own. However, outside of work and friends she is a very shy woman, whom would hardly speak up if something is bothering her.

Calliope can be noted for her patience, she can wait for what seems to be a lifetime. Even though she is overweight, she is usually well dressed.
Relationship to Ian: Calliope is a very good friend of Ethan Caulderwood. Ian loves to play an online mmorpg when he has time, he’ll stay up far too late playing the game. Calliope plays this game as well, and they’re both in the same guild, hence they know each other. Calliope is not an internet friend or long-distance friend, she is in fact a local citizen and is a librarian at the high school Ian goes to. She is one of Ian’s closest friends even though she is over double his age. Friendship knows no ages. She considers Ian to be a good friend as well, not as the son she never had, as a friend.
Notes: Even though Calliope is a large woman, don’t let it fool you, she is strong and can easily pick someone up without hesitation.

~ by Ashkir on January 11, 2011.

7 Responses to “Character Preview: Calliope”

  1. Congrats on your star moment on DailyPost! I like the theme you’ve used here, is it a customized theme? It creates a sense of mystery to your blog.
    In terms of your character Calliope, I like that she is a big woman… hopefully a woman of substance too. Best wishes on the novel and stop by and say hello when you can. I’m doing the PostADay challenge.
    Best,
    Elizabeth

    • Hello Elizabeth. This theme is called ChaoticSoul, and it is a free wordpress.com theme. :). I had a wallpaper I really liked and I recropped it to be my header image here and uploaded it via the header appearance tab. The blog’s design really, kind of reflects me. Mystery was the right word, Elizabeth! ^_^

      Thank you! That feature really surprised me, and Kate.

      I love Calliope! She is one of my new favorites! :). I feel she will be a long character, and I cannot wait to see her more myself!

      Ashkir.

  2. Calliope seems like a great character. I don’t understand how she is “defiantly” shorter than Ian though, if they are such good friends though… But I love all the thought that has gone into her!

  3. it’s just that “defiantly” implies she has almost a distrustful, resistant attitude, so I was wondering how that fit into her character traits

  4. I am quite interested to see how she grows and becomes a part of the story.

Leave a Reply

 
